St Fursey, Abbot

St Fursey, of illustrious Irish birth, went to England with his brothers, St Foilan and Ultan, and founded a monastery in Suffolk. Having also founded many other monasteries in France, he died at Péronne in Picardy in 650.

Collect of the day

May the intercession of blessed Fursey the Abbot, commend us unto Thee, we beseech Thee, O Lord: so that what we cannot acquire by any merits of ours, we may obtain by his patronage. Through our Lord… Amen.

The Lorica of St Fursey

Christian Scouts may find the prayer below useful in their daily lives. The expression of service and work is always important to Scouts wherever they may be.

The arms of God be around my shoulders
The touch of the Holy Spirit upon my head,
The sign of Christ’s cross upon my forehead,
The sound of the Holy Spirit in my ears,
The fragrance of the Holy Spirit in my nostrils,
The vision of heaven’s company in my eyes,
The conversation of heaven’s company on my lips,
The work of God’s church in my hands,
The service of God and the neighbour in my feet,
A home for God in my heart,
And to God, the Father of all, my entire being.

— from The Fursey Pilgrims 

 

Leave a comment